Slick Rick Celebrates 'The Great Adventures Of Slick Rick' With A Deluxe 30th Anniversary Edition

The Ruler returns.

The Great Adventures Of Slick Rick—the debut album from Slick Rick, the inimitable British-American MC and third signing to Def Jam Recordings, is widely regarded as one of hip-hop’s seminal masterpieces. Originally released on November 1, 1988, The Great Adventures Of Slick Rick celebrates its historic 30th anniversary.

To celebrate the milestone, Def Jam/Urban Legends/UMe is releasing a newly remastered and expanded 30th Anniversary Edition in a suite of digital and physical formats, including deluxe digital and CD packages, and deluxe and standard vinyl LP editions on April 26, 2019 including: 

The album’s 12 songs include the classics “Teenage Love,” “Children’s Story,” “The Ruler’s Back,” “Lick the Balls,” and “Treat Her Like a Prostitute.” The new 30th Anniversary Edition adds Rick’s previously unreleased demo recordings for “Children’s Story,” “A Teenage Love,” “Mona Lisa,” and “Hey Young World.” The album’s new digital edition also includes the previously unissued “Snakes of the World Today” (written, recorded, and produced by Slick Rick during sessions for the album).

The Deluxe 2LP vinyl packages include a booklet with reproductions of lyric sheets and photos, as well as a reproduction of Slick Rick’s infamous eyepatch. The Deluxe Edition also features an ode to The Great Adventures written by the legendary Nas. Slick Rick has also debuted two limited-edition ‘Great Adventures’ t-shirts, available exclusively from Bravado and Rick’s own online store: He also collaborated with PINTRILL for a limited edition three-pin bundle to commemorate The Great Adventures, available on his store, as well.

Buy The Great Adventures Of Slick Rick now.